California has five different spousal support options available as part of a divorce settlement agreement. This financial support, or alimony, is generally granted by a court or agreed upon between spouses for a set period of time to sustain the spouse who earns less. Criteria for determining alimony can include the length of the marriage, the age and health of the spouse, the financial status of each spouse, and the standard of living spouses were accustomed to during their marriage. 

Temporary Alimony

The spouse who earns a higher income will pay spousal support to the lower-earning spouse during the divorce process to enable them to pay for their lawyer and expenses they might have. This alimony is limited to the divorce process.

Permanent Alimony 

This alimony is paid to the lower-earning spouse every month once the divorce has been finalized. This spousal support will usually remain in place until the death of the spouse who receives alimony, or in the event that they get remarried.

Lump-sum Payment 

Should a spouse not want any of the marital property as part of the settlement, a judge can order that the other spouse pay a lump-sum amount to that spouse. This option is gaining popularity due to the spouse having certainty of receiving financial support all at once.

Reimbursement Alimony 

This alimony rewards a spouse who made sacrifices during the marriages that affected them in a negative economic way. That spouse gets reimbursed for contributions they may have made in helping their spouse achieve success or growth in their career.

Rehabilitative Alimony

While the lower-earning spouse sets out to find employment, the higher-earning spouse will pay this form of alimony until the lower-earning spouse has been able to become self-sufficient.

Whether you want us to fight for you in court or be by your side during settlement negotiations for spousal support in California, contact Westover Law Group today for more information or to discuss your case.